Cricket World
AddThis Feed Button Latest News
Emerging Media, a UK-based company, bought Rajasthan Royals (the Jaipur team) for $67 million. Rajasthan Royals won the inauguration tournament under legend Shane Warne.

Rajasthan Royals

Representing the 'Desert State of India', Rajasthan Royals makes up one of the eight franchises of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Winner of the first season of IPL i.e. IPL 2008, the team was captained as well as coached by Shane Warne. With this, it has become the only team in the Indian Premier League to have a foreign captain and coach. There was also no 'Icon Player' in the team. Rajasthan Royals was auctioned off for US $67 million, to Emerging Media, with Lachlan Murdoch, Sir Aditya S Chellaram and Suresh Chellaram being other investors.

The Rajasthan Royals franchise is owned and chaired by Manoj Badale. Other investors include Ryan Tkalcevic, Lachlan Murdoch, Aditya S Chellaram, Bollywood actress Shilpa Shetty and Suresh Chellaram and her business partner Raj Kundra later bought 11.7% stake in Rajasthan Royals, by paying around US $15.4 million. The team made up the least expensive franchise in the Indian Premier and initially, was not at all favored as a winner. However, it proved the speculators wrong and ended the preliminary round with an impressive 11 wins and only 3 losses. Rajasthan Royals won the semi-final, after defeating Delhi Daredevils, and clinched the finals as well, beating Chennai Super Kings in inauguration tournament.

Last IPL, in 2015, the captained by Steven Smith and Shane Watson (some matches_ and they finished at fourth spot.

Rajasthan Royals Logo
The logo of Rajasthan Royals comprises of a two lions blowing the war horn and flanking the RR insignia, along with the team's name.

Year wise Team Performance

Year - Position
2008 - Winner
2009 - Sixth
2010 - Seventh
2011 - Sixth
2012 - Seventh
2013 - Third
2014 - Fifth
2015 - Fourth

Rajasthan Royals Players for 2015

Squad strength: 25 (Indian 16, overseas 9)

Squad cost: INR 54.45 crore

Strengths: They managed to buy the most players and still have the most economical squad. They have depth in every department.

Weaknesses: A lot of their back-up players are relatively inexperienced and untested, but that is in keeping with previous Rajasthan squads.

  • Karun Nair (India)
  • Ajinkya Rahane (India)
  • Brad Hodge (Australia)
  • Jack Mattingly (Australia)
  • Shane Watson (Australia, captain)
  • James Faulkner (Australia)
  • Stuart Binny (India)
  • Kevon Cooper (West Indies)
  • Rajat Bhatia (India)
  • Abhishek Nayar (India)
  • Steven Smith (Australia)
    Wicketkeepers: Sanju Samson (India) Ankush Bains (India) Dishant Yagnik (India)
  • Pravin Tambe (India)
  • Amit Mishra (India)
  • Dhawal Kulkarni (India)
  • Kane Richardson (Australia)
  • Deepak Hooda (India)
  • Ben Cutting (Australia)
  • Iqbal Abdulla (India)
  • Tim Southee (New Zealand)
  • Rahul Tewatia (India)
  • Vikramjeet Malik (India)
  • Ankit Sharma (India)
    Support Staffs/Coaches
  • Head Coach: Paddy Upton (South Africa)
  • Mentor: Rahul Dravid (India)
  • Coach: Monty Desai (India)
  • Physio: John Gloster (Australia)
  • Masseur: Derek Sedgmen (Australia)
  • Logistics Manager: Romi Bhinder (India)
  • Analyst: Panish Shetty (India)
    Support Staffs/Coaches
  • Owner(s): Emerging Media, Shilpa Shetty, Raj Kundra
  • CEO: Manoj Badale
  • Director: Zubin Bharucha (India)
  • Manager: Sushil Tulaskar (India)

IPL Teams

News - India
Patel (4-0) Heroics Give India 'A' Win
Sri Lanka Take Two Wickets in Curtailed Opening Day
Sri Lanka put India to bat on Grassy Pitch
Smith reclaimed top spot in rankings
Ashwin five spoils Sangakkara farewell
Vijay, Saha out of Thrid Sri Lanka Test
India on Brink of Victory after Rahane Ton
India Back on Top Despite Mathews's Ton
India Slightly Edge After Second Day
Sri Lanka Hit Back Despite Rahul Ton

Feedback Form