Cricket World
AddThis Feed Button Latest News
Explore information on Chennai Super Kings owned by India Cements Ltd -- is one of the three teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) that does not have an 'Icon Player' amidst its players.

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings, as the name suggests, is the Chennai-based franchise of the Indian Premier League. The team is owned by Indian Cements, which paid US$ 91 million to acquire its rights for 10 years. Led by the current captain of Indian cricket team, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the team has Stephen Fleming, New Zealand player, as its coach. The brand ambassador of Chennai Super Kings is Tamil super star Vijay. It has M. A. Chidambaram Stadium (popularly known as Chepauk) as its home ground. The team's colors are yellow and blue.

The Super Kings are the most successful team in the IPL having won the title twice in succession (2010 and 2011) and reached the play-offs every season. CSK also won Champions League Twenty20 in 2010. Chennai Super Kings is one of the three teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) with no 'Icon Player'.

Chennai Super Kings Logo
The logo of Chennai Super Kings has a roaring lion in it, along with a crown and the team's name.

Year wise Team Performance

Year - Position
2008 - Runner-up
2009 - Semi-finalist
2010 - Winner
2011 - Winner
2012 - Runner-up
2013 - Runner-up
2013 - Third

Chennai Super Kings Players for 2015

Squad strength: 20 (Indian 12, overseas 8)

Squad cost: INR 59.80 crore

Strengths: Their five retained players form the core of the side and compelling additions are du Plessis, McCullum and Smith. They have a number of allrounders and spinners to choose from, and batting or bowling options will never be a problem.

Weaknesses: While the Super Kings have several fast bowlers in their squad, only Ben Hilfenhaus is world class.

  • Suresh Raina (India, vice captain)
  • Mithun Manhas (India)
  • Faf du Plessis (South Africa)
    Wicket Keepers:
  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India, Captain)
  • Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)
    All Rounders:
  • Baba Aparajith (India)
  • Ravindra Jadeja (India)
  • Vijay Shankar (India)
  • Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)
  • Dwayne Smith (West Indies)
  • John Hastings (Australia)
  • Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
  • Ashish Nehra (India)
  • Mohit Sharma (India)
  • Ishwar Pandey (India)
  • Ronit More (India)
  • Ben Hilfenhaus (Australia)
  • Pawan Negi (India)
  • Matt Henry (New Zealand)
  • Samuel Badree (West Indies)
    Support Staffs/Coaches
  • Coach: Stephen Fleming (New Zealand)
  • Bowling Coach: Andy Bichel (Australia)
  • Fielding Coach: Steve Rixon (Australia)
  • Physical Trainer: Gregory King (South Africa)
  • Physio: Tommy Simsek (Australia)
  • Owner: India Cements Ltd
  • Performance Analyst: Lakshmi Narayanan
  • Team manager: Radha Krishnan
1st match - Kolkata Knight Riders v Mumbai Indians at Eden Gardens, Kolkata - April 08, 14:30 GMT
2nd match - Chennai Super Kings v Delhi Daredevils at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai - April 09, 14:30 GMT
3rd match - Kings XI Punjab v Rajasthan Royals at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune - April 10, 14:30 GMT
4th match - Chennai Super Kings v Sunrisers Hyderabad at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai - April 11, 10:30 GMT
5th match - Kolkata Knight Riders v Bangalore Royal Challengers at Eden Gardens, Kolkata - April 11, 14:30 GMT

IPL Teams

News - India
KKR Forced to Reschedule Home Games due to Elections
Australia Knocks India Out of World Cup
SCG Set to Turn Indian for Australia Semi-final
Rohit ton guides India into semifinals
World Cup Quarter-finals Schedule
Raina, Dhoni Star in India's Sixth Win
Defending Champion India beat Ireland in Style
India into Quarter With Narrow Win
Ashwin set up nine wickets win for India
Mohammed Shami Out of UAE Game

Feedback Form